

Over-the-Rhine Community Council P.O. Box 662 Cincinnati, OH 45201 513.381.2956 OTRCommunityCouncil.org PresidentOTRCC@gmail.com

January 27, 2020

Dear Director of the Department of Buildings & Inspections Art Dahlberg,

The Over-the-Rhine Community Council voted this month to ask Cincinnati City leadership to take immediate action to address the significant loss caused by vacant buildings. We are concerned about the loss of our historic assets and risks to life and property of residents.

Vacant and blighted buildings invite criminal activity and sometimes result in tragic disasters, as happened recently with the Jackson Brewery in Over-the-Rhine.

This problem plagues all neighborhoods, but is especially damaging in historic districts, like Over-the-Rhine, that have seen decades of disinvestment.

Sections of Over-the-Rhine still suffer from an abundance of vacant and blighted properties. The City contributes to this dangerous condition by not effectively enforcing vacant build license requirements and building code requirements.

We strongly believe the City needs to promote redevelopment of these buildings by providing incentives and aid to people who are actively trying to redevelop these properties.

Simultaneously, we strongly believe the City needs to more effectively enforce existing laws, and motivate property owners who have owned property for years without attempting to improve the property or sell it to someone who will, as is the case with Jackson Brewery and its owner.

We ask that the City of Cincinnati conduct a full audit of vacant buildings with a report on which owners have and have not complied with the city's Vacant Building Maintenance requirements, including the requirement to have insurance on the building. Understanding the large inventory of vacant buildings in Over-the-Rhine and throughout the City, we suggest beginning the audit in the Mohawk area, in conjunction with City of Cincinnati's Mohawk Area Plan.

Thank you.

Maurice Wagoner President, Over-the-Rhine Community Council

CC: City Council, City Manager, Planning Commission, Historic Conservation Board, Community Council Presidents